November 17, 1940

East Texas

In a special meeting called by President C.P. Mosley, East Texas League owners vote to award the 1940 championship to Marshall ending a three month "squabble" between the Tigers and the Tyler Trojans.

The decision ends a three-month argument between the two franchises following their Shaughnessy playoff series when Marshall protests Tyler's use of outfielder Nick Gregory. The vote is 4-0 in favor of awarding the Tigers the pennant.

The third-place Trojans had beaten

the fourth-place Tigers in the league championship series, winning four of the six games played. Gregory played for Tyler during the regular season, but had been sold to the San Antonio Missions on August 19, for \$250 and then is reacquired by the Trojans for \$100 two weeks prior to the championship series.

Then, despite selling Gregory to the Missions on the 19th, six days later Tyler includes his name on its eligible roster for the championship series.

On September 18, Mosley announces that based on a ruling by Judge W.G. Bramham, President of the National Association of Baseball Leagues, that Marshall has been awarded the league title. Mosely says Marshall's protest of Gregory would not "stand up" under East Texas League rules, but the ruling by Bramham supercedes any league rules.

EAST TEXAS LEAGUE TITLE IS AWARDED TO MARSHALL

Marshall, Nov. 18. (A)-A squabble between Tyler and Marshall over the 1940 championship of the East Texas League was settled here yesterday when club directors voted the title to Marshall.

The group also accepted the resignation of League President C. P. Mosley and decided to offer the presidency to J. Walter Morris, general manager of the Fort Worth Club of the Texas League.

Argument over the championship arose when the eligibility status of Outfielder Nick Gregory of the Tyler questioned during

Shaughnessy playoff.

©DiamondsintheDusk.com